OneZone Chamber of Commerce recently announced its Business Excellence Awards winners. Fishers resident Carol Sergi won the Difference Maker of the Year award and will be recognized with the other award winners during a luncheon at 11 a.m. Jan. 26 at 502 East Event Centre in Carmel.

“Carol is truly a staple in the Hamilton County community,” OneZone President Jack Russell said. “Not only has the work she has done with Invest Hamilton County been impactful, but her ability to bring people together is truly amazing. She is extremely deserving of the Difference Maker of the Year Award here at OneZone Chamber.”

Sergi is a community leader who serves on the Ivy Tech Hamilton County Board of Trustees, as well as the Hamilton County Leadership Academy. She also makes a difference by being one of the 100 Women Who Care Hamilton County, a group which raises funds for community organizations, and she serves with the Circle of Ivy, Ivy Tech’s philanthropy group.

In May 2021, Sergi retired from working with Hamilton County Economic Development. She returned to work that September as the interim executive director for the Hamilton County Leadership Academy. HCLA has since hired a new executive director, so Sergi is transitioning to the HCLA Board of Directors.

Sergi said she’s most proud of several projects accomplished while she served with Hamilton County Economic Development, such as transitioning HCEDC to an organization that supports workforce attraction, retention and connection to jobs in Hamilton County.

“We created marketing campaigns to support that effort in addition to connecting the county to work together to promote us as a great place to live, work, play and find opportunity,” Sergi said.

Sergi also led the effort for Hamilton County to be designated a 21st Century Talent Region and created the Workforce Recovery Task Force during the COVID-19 pandemic. The task force worked county wide to support workers who lost their jobs find new employment and supported businesses who needed to hire new staff.   For more or to register for the awards luncheon, visit